Heard a lot about the popular Mexican seasoning, but wondering is Tajin vegan, gluten free, and suitable for those with other dietary restrictions?
Well, here’s answering all your questions and then some more.
Read on to discover everything you need to know about Tajin seasoning and get your answers to the most frequently asked questions about this salty and spicy seasoning.
Yes! Tajin is vegan, and is crafted using plant-based ingredients, which make it suitable for a vegan diet.
That said, there is a bit of a debate revolving around how certain ingredients that are used to make this spicy Mexican seasoning may not completely be vegan.
The packaged, store-bought version of this seasoning blend contains silicon dioxide, which is an anti-caking agent. Whether silicon dioxide is vegan or not is still being debated.
Now that you have your answer to the question- is Tajin vegan, its time to dig a bit deeper and check out how this spicy seasoning fares with other dietary restrictions.
Tajin isn’t just vegan-friendly, but gluten-free too! None of its ingredients contain gluten or traces of wheat, which makes this seasoning perfect for all those suffering from gluten intolerance or celiac disease.
This seasoning blend contains no animal products or byproducts, and no alcohol too, which is why it is Halal.
Tajin is basically a seasoning mix made with chili peppers, and is used as a condiment for your dishes.
Whether it is healthy or not depends on how you serve it.
Tajin is arguably one of the most addictive and flavorful spice blends out there, but not in a bad way.
The ingredients in Tajin, including dehydrated lime juice, salt and chili peppers, which create the perfect fiery and tangy flavor that you’ll fall in love with.
That said, it is completely safe for people.
Yes! Tajin is basically the same thing as the popular Mexican chile lime seasoning.
You’ll find Tajin commonly used in most Elote recipes. I know, because I love using it for my Elote casserole.
Tajin isn’t the same as plain chili powder. It actually contains a blend of sea salt, dehydrated lime juice and some hot pepper powder, and in the store bought version, there’s always a preservative added in.
While Tajín is a vegan product, it is considerably high in sodium, which can be a bit of a downside. Just about 1 serving of this spice blend makes up for 8% of your day’s recommended total sodium intake.
That said, you can choose to use the low sodium version of the popular Clásico seasoning and enjoy the kick of flavor you’re looking for.
Another great idea is to just make your own homemade Tajin seasoning mix and control the amount of salt you’re adding in.
With zero net carbs, Tajin is keto friendly too!
This Mexican spice blend doesn’t have any high or moderate FODMAP ingredients listed on the label, which means it is versatile enough to be used when you’re looking for Low FODMAP spices and seasonings.
Tajin is nut free too, and is a great condiment to add to your meals even if you suffer from allergies to any kind of nuts.
Yes, Tajin contains a simple mix of seasonings and spices, and is Whole30 compliant.
How is Tajin Used?
Tajin can be used to spice up any of your vegetarian and vegan meals.
I love using it to season fruits and vegetables - that’s exactly what I did with my mango con Tajin and Pepinos con Chile recipes. I think it would taste incredible with citrus fruits and watermelon too!
You can also easily incorporate it into any Mexican food of your choice. Just a sprinkle or two over your tacos can really jazz things up.
You can also add it to your homemade sauces and marinades, or sprinkle it over your grilled vegetables to make it more flavorful.